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The Ultimate Marketing Glossary (2022)

Updated: Jul 15, 2022


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Read our ultimate marketing glossary and learn the most essential terms in digital marketing and e-commerce. Digital marketing refers specifically to using digital channels to market products or services to reach consumers. This type of marketing includes using search engines, websites, mobile devices, Social Media, and other similar channels. Learn about the most important phrases used in the digital world below.



A


A/B Tests

To see which version users prefer, create two versions of the same digital asset. A landing page, display advertisement, marketing email, or social post are all examples of digital assets.


An A/B test will see half your audience receive "version A" and the other half receive "version B". The conversion rate goals are how many people click on a link, fill out a form or make a purchase.



Abandoned Cart

If a user adds a product into an online shopping cart but does not proceed to checkout or complete the purchase. Some users may abandon their carts because they're not ready to buy.


They may abandon their cart because they don't want to buy. Instead, they use it as a "wishlist" while shopping around and comparing prices. Setting up personalized, automatic email alerts to remind customers they have items in their cart can often be just what they need to complete the purchase.



Ad Copy

Your advertising messages to customers should contain the following words. Ad copy could be the headline for a display ad or the subject line of an email marketing campaign. It can also include the call to action (CTA), of a Facebook advertisement, and the script for a TV or video spot. Although ad copy can be distinguished from other elements of ad design, such as illustration and photography, copy and design should always complement each other.



Ad Extensions

To improve your Google Ads' performance, you can add specific information to them. You have several options: store location, call button, and product pricing. There's also a possibility to download the app. Google extensions are free. Google does charge a fee for extensions. However, users who click on the majority of types of extensions will be charged a pay per click (PPC), just as when they click on an advertisement.



Ad Network

This service offers advertisers online advertising space. This can be inventory from thousands to hundreds of websites. It is a general rule that certain inventory is more valuable than other inventory, which means it is more expensive for advertisers. Consider buying an ad placement on TV during "the big games" as opposed to during a 3 AM mop infomercial. The payment structure depends on the network and may be a cost per thousand impressions, cost per click (CPC) or cost per acquisition (CPA).



AdSense

Google's marketing program pays website publishers to allow relevant ads from Google to be automatically displayed on their websites. Keywords determine relevance. Adverts can contain text, images, or video. These ads are intended to be of high quality and not distract from the content on the website, both desktop, and mobile. Publishers can reject ads they don't like or prioritize ads they love. Publishers are usually paid on a pay-per-click (PPC) basis.



Advertising Budget

A company invests in promoting its products or services to its target audience. Advertising budgets typically include the costs of media, printing, photography, mailing, and support from advertising professionals. A percentage of sales is used by some businesses to determine their advertising budget. No matter your advertising method, you should always consider your return on investment. You should get a clear understanding of the return on investment from any vendor.



Advertorial

Advertising and editorial content are combined. A newspaper or printed magazine often draws the line between editorial content and advertising.

An advertorial combines both formats to inform readers about the product via an editorial-esque storytelling experience. These advertorials are a very popular online advertising strategy. They are usually labeled as "sponsored" or "paid" to avoid misleading users about the source.



Affiliate Marketing

Marketing is based on an agreement between an advertiser and a website publisher. The advertiser pays for the leads or revenue generated by the publishers' websites. This is a form of value sharing, also known as commission sharing. For a small investment, an affiliate partnership can increase your advertising reach and relevance to target audiences. Bloggers are great affiliates because you only pay for the performance.



Affiliate Network

A select group of website publishers that partner with an advertiser to generate leads or sales. They receive a commission solely based on their performance. For example, a shoe manufacturer partners with some highly respected fashion bloggers. Bloggers place links and ads promoting the shoes of the shoe company on their websites. The blogger gets a commission from the business for each sale. Advertisers can get "prepackaged" programs through affiliate networks.



Alt Text

Text that appears in place of images or pops up when your mouse hovers over an image. Alternative text or (Alt Text) is added to the HTML code of a website to describe an image if it doesn't display. There are many reasons this might happen. Users may choose to disable images so that web pages load quicker. Some users might have difficulty seeing or may be blind. To help them, special screen readers translate the text of web pages into Braille or audio. Alt text helps search engines better understand images.



Anchor Text

A link's wording on a website, within an email or in another digital asset. An example of anchor text would be "read more." This is an important part in the user experience. Your users should be able to see where the links lead and feel satisfied with their destination. When ranking your website pages for relevance, search engines take into account your anchor text.



Audience Segmentation

Marketing strategies that target subgroups of the target audience to provide more targeted messaging and stronger connections. You can create subgroups based on factors such as gender identity, geographic location, income or level of formal education. You can also create subgroups based on past behavior, such as purchasing decisions. When you have insight into your audience's values and beliefs, psychographics can be used.



B


Backlinks

Backlinks are links from websites other than yours that link to your website. Inbound links are also known as backlinks. They represent traffic that has come to your website via other websites. Your backlinks are important in helping you rank higher on search engines like Google and Bing. Your backlinks can be used to measure the popularity of your website with users.



Banner Ad

A horizontal ad placement placed at the top of a webpage. The term "banner", borrowed from print newspapers, is used here. The newspaper's name can be at the top of a front page or the headline of a story that spans the entire page width. Since the dawn of the Internet, banners have been in use. Although they have lost their popularity as more display formats became available, banners can still be a valuable element of your advertising mix. They offer visibility at a low cost.



BIMI

Brand Indicators to Message Identification (BIMI), is an emerging security technology that authenticates your email marketing and builds trust between your customers. BIMI is compatible with DKIM and SPF protocols. This protects your domain from being misused by malicious actors to send fake emails. Your logo will appear next to the messages you send to users' inboxes. This allows your contacts to know that these emails are genuine from your business.



Bing Ads

Pay-per-click ads (PPC), that are run on Bing or Yahoo search engines and span across desktop and mobile devices. Bing Ads can import Google campaigns into Bing. It is similar to Google Ads. This allows you to use both services in one campaign. Bing Ads is similar to Google Ads in that it can target customers based on demographics and customer geography, but specific capabilities differ.



Black Hat SEO

This is a terrible idea. Black hat SEO is a method of optimizing search engines that emphasizes gaming the system and ignores the human experience. These methods are not in line with search engine guidelines, so search engines may reject entire websites for using them. "Black hat" is a colorful term from old Western movies in which villains wore black hats while heroes wore white. This allowed viewers to distinguish them in those days before Technicolor.



Blog

Blog is the abbreviation for "web log". A blog essentialy is a collection of journal-like articles about a topic published on a website. Users are encouraged to comment and add new articles frequently. Anyone can publish a blog. Affiliate marketing is a way for successful bloggers to attract advertisers. They add credibility and value to their followers' messages.



Bounce Rate

This is the percentage of visitors to your site that only one page was viewed. Users "bounce" refers to people who view a page on your website or a landing page but don't click on any links. They didn't click links or visit other pages. You can improve your pages in many ways to make them more popular. A/B testing can optimize your offer, call-to-action (CTA), ad copy, and design.



Brand

A customer's experience with a product/service that is different than others in its category. A brand is more than a name. It's where benefits, features, and customer perceptions intersect. A brand is a distinctive identity and image that connects with its customers. This is the reason why we choose one brand over another every single day.



Brand Identity

The visual experience is a customer's impression of your product or service. To convey a unique brand image to customers, a brand identity includes elements such as the logo, color palette, type style, and name. It includes consistent words, images, voice, tone, and voice standards.



Brand Image

Your customers' perceptions of your company, products and services. You can't control this. However, the ultimate goal is to increase market share, raise awareness, improve recognition, foster favorability, and win affinity. Two keys to success are strong brand identity and relentless brand management.



Brand Manager

A marketing professional who ensures that customers have a memorable experience with a brand. This means that all messaging about the brand must be consistent with the brand's values and personality. A brand manager's typical tasks include performing competitive analysis, creating marketing strategies, advertising campaigns, and managing budget.



Breadcrumbs

You're correct if you think "Hansel and Gretel." As they explored the forest, this fairy tale couple left behind breadcrumbs to help them find their way home. Digital breadcrumbs serve the same function. These breadcrumbs are a type of website navigation that allows users to see the sections they have visited in the order they were visited. This makes it easy for them to retrace their steps.



C


Call to Action

Your marketing message should be accompanied by a call to action (CTA). The call to action (CTA) clearly identifies the next step. Shop now, follow us, and learn more. A/B testing allows you to test different calls to action and optimize your messages using the CTAs that receive the most response.



Canonical URL

Search engine crawlers will need to see the "master version" of your page. Information is added to your unique URLs as you launch marketing campaigns or track users. This indicates that you can maintain multiple versions of the exact same page, but the crawlers don't know which one is the "right". You can tell search engines which version you want visitors to see by creating a canonical URL within the page's HTML.



Classified Advertising

Ads appear on the same page but are grouped together into categories in a list-like structure. The most common categories include real estate, home services, and clothing. Classified ads are usually less expensive than display ads. They don't have images with the copy and can be more concise. These ads can be an effective advertising strategy for reaching people interested in your product or service. Localization is also possible with classified ads.



Click-Through Rate (CTR)

Your digital marketing message's click-through rate is the percentage of users who click on the link after they have seen it. If 10,000 people see your display ad and 10 clicks on it, then your click-through rate is 0.1% or 0.001. This same math applies to marketing emails, landing pages and social media links. CTR is an important success metric in advertising campaigns.



Contact Form

A page on a website which contains a short questionnaire. This allows users to give information about themselves and indicate interest in being contacted regarding your products or services. The most common fields for a contact form are first, last, email address, and the area of interest. A contact form must contain two elements: a statement that the user has given permission to contact you and a link to your privacy policies.



Businesses use content marketing to engage and retain customers. This strategy involves sharing and creating relevant articles, videos, and podcasts. It proves expertise and boosts brand awareness. It also helps to keep your business in mind when customers are ready to buy the products you sell.



Conversion Rate

Percentage of user actions after total clicks on display ads or digital assets. Your marketing strategy determines your actions, which commonly include clicking on multiple links, downloading assets such as a B2B (business-to-business) white paper, signing up to obtain special retail offers, etc. Clicks / actions = conversion rates. Your campaign will be better if you have a higher conversion rate.



Conversion Rate Optimization (CRO)

This is the process of increasing the number of users who do the actions you want, such as purchasing a product online or clicking on a link to a website. Personalized marketing and A/B testing are two key strategies to increase conversion rates (CRO). Both of these strategies use analytics to discover customer insights and help you craft the most suitable message to the right person at the best time for better results.



Cost Per Acquisition (CPA)

The amount you spend to win one paying customer. The cost per acquisition (CPA), a marketing success metric, can be calculated for either a campaign or a digital marketing channel (such as email) or across all channels and tactics. The formula for calculating CPA at the campaign level is Total campaign cost / conversions. This is a common metric used to calculate the success of affiliate and display advertising campaigns.



Cost Per Click (CPC)

Display ads are charged by website publishers to be displayed on their sites. You don't pay for your ads to appear on a website, but you only pay for the audience's interaction with them. Google is a leading publisher of cost-per-click (CPC) ads and contracts with other publishers to distribute them on other sites.



CPM

Cost per 1,000 impressions of an online advertisement. An impression is a display of an ad that has been served to a user. Your CPM is 1 if an ad network charges $1,000 to deliver 1 million impressions. A CPM model may be a good option if your campaign aims to increase brand awareness. A cost-per-click model (CPC), which is more likely to achieve your campaign goals of increasing user interaction with your brand, or prompting users to take specific actions such as signing up to a loyalty program, may be a better option.



Creatives

These are the products of graphic designers, copywriters, and other creative advertising professionals or just the people who created them. If you are looking at mock-ups or layouts of marketing emails, landing page pages, or display ads, then you are looking at creatives.



CRM

Customer relationship management or CRM is the technique of managing customer relationships. CRM's goals are to retain existing customers, increase customer spending, and convert new people into customers. CRM technology manages information like a summary of every interaction, indicators that indicate buying intent, and purchase history. Analytics can also be used to give real-time insights into cross-selling or upsell opportunities at each customer level.



CSS

Cascading style sheets (CSS) are a language that defines how a website looks. It includes layout, colors, and font sizes. The pros of using CSS are that its rules can cascade across all your web pages, lowering the time to code each page from scratch. Responsive web design is possible with CSS. This allows you to reuse code on desktop and mobile devices and maintains a consistent user experience (UX).



Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC)

The customer acquisition cost (CAC), is the amount a company spends to acquire a new client. It is used to measure the return on investment of client growth efforts. CAC can be calculated by adding up the costs of converting prospects to customers (marketing, advertising personnel, etc.) and then dividing that number by the number of acquired customers.



Customer Data Platform

A customer data platform or a (CDP), is a central repository for customer data from many sources. It organizes the data and aggregates it to create a single customer profile. This can be used to optimize marketing efforts and customer experiences.



Customer Journey

A customer journey is a map showing every customer interaction with you. This allows you to see every interaction your customer has with your business before and after they engage. It will be more straightforward for you to understand the customer journey and then use our automation tool in order to create the marketing experience that you desire.




D


It is the practice of reaching consumers online through digital channels to turn them into customers. In practice, digital marketing refers to campaigns that appear on smartphones, computers, tablets, or other devices.


It can be in many forms: online video, ad, search engine advertising, and social media posts. Digital marketing is frequently compared to traditional marketing, such as billboards, magazine ads, and direct mailing. Television is sometimes lumped in with conventional marketing.


Direct Mail Marketing

Direct mail marketing is a type of marketing where the United States Postal Service delivers mail to a prospect's home. Common examples include flyers, postcards, and catalogs. Email marketing is digital.



Direct Marketing

Direct marketing is when a company sells a product and delivers it directly to the customer. Direct response marketing is often used. It usually includes a call-to-action (CTA), which asks for the desired response. For example, you can call a number or visit a website to learn more about the product. Direct mail marketing and email marketing are two common forms of direct marketing.



Display Ads

An online advertisement that includes text, images, and a URL linking to a website that allows customers to learn more about products or purchase them. These ads can be animated with multiple images or videos, or static. While some display ads are educational, others are intended to entertain or engage with the user through simple puzzles and games. Display ads can be in the form of banner ads.



Distribution Channel

A product's journey from its origin to the end-user is how it gets there. Distribution channels in marketing are usually divided into business-to-business (B2B) and business-to-consumer (B2C). B2B is about the interaction between companies to create products. B2C is about how products reach the people who use them. A business might sell directly to a customer or to a retailer, which in turn sells the product to the end-user.


Domain Keys Identified Mail or DKIM is an email authentication method that allows the receivers to verify and confirm if the email was sent and authorized by its owner. This is achieved by giving the email a digital signature. This DKIM Signature header is added to the message. It is encrypted.



DMARC

Domain-based Message Authentication, Reporting & Conformance is a well-recognized email protocol that allows people and businesses to protect their domains and email addresses from being misused. It allows you to verify that the email you have sent is genuine. This email authentication protects both the sender and recipient from spamming, phishing, and spoofing.



DNS

Domain name systems (DNS), which take a human-friendly website address such as Website.com and translate it into a computer-friendly IP address that a web browser can use for finding and displaying a website, uses this address to create a domain name system. DNS is often referred to as the "phonebook" of the Internet. It remembers the phone number of a website so that humans need only know its name.



Domain

A domain, or domain name, is the space between the @ in an email address and the domain,.org.,.net, etc. (For example, yourname@domain.com.) Domains allow customers to find and remember the location of your business on the Internet. A subdomain is a portion of your domain sales.domain.com or marketing.domain.com that can be used to help increase the deliverability of your email marketing.



Drip Campaign

Automated emails that are sent to people who perform a particular action. You can determine how many emails you want to send and at what rate. You can personalize these emails with data such as the contact's name and specific references to their action. For example, you might send a drip email to someone who registers for your online course. You could also send a drip campaign if someone adds an item to their online shopping cart but does not buy it.



Dropshipping

A model of e-commerce where the seller does not own inventory and doesn't have to handle shipping. The seller processes a customer's purchase and then transfers it to a third-party supplier (such as a wholesaler, manufacturer, or another type of supplier) who prepares and ships that order. Dropshipping is a popular way for entrepreneurs to start an online shop quickly. The supplier only gets paid if someone actually buys the item.




E


E-commerce

E-commerce can be described as selling and buying of goods and services via the Internet. It begins when a potential client learns about a product. It continues with purchase, use, loyalty, and, hopefully, continuous customer loyalty. The most successful ecommerce businesses use data to power their operations. These best practices include targeted email marketing, audience segmentation, and marketing automation.



E-commerce Website

An online platform that allows users to sell various digital and physical goods and services over the Internet rather than in a physical store. A business can accept orders, process payments, handle shipping and logistics, and offer customer service through an e-commerce site.



Email Automation

Pre-defined rules can be used to trigger emails based on particular actions customers take (or don't take). One example is a welcome email sent when a customer registers for a mailing list. Another example is a reminder email reminding customers that they have not finished shopping. Email automation removes repetitive tasks from your to-do lists to make it easier to focus on other important tasks like responding to customer queries. This can allow customers to learn more about you and encourage them to return.



Email List

An email list that your company can use to send marketing emails. Email lists can be segmented or broken down into smaller groups based on their interests and behaviors. This lets you to adjust your messaging to make it more relevant, engaging, and efficient. You can create them by collecting email addresses during purchase or other steps.



Email Marketing

Email marketing is a wonderful way to promote your business's products or services. Email marketing can inform your customers about new products and discounts. You can even use it to educate your customers about the benefits of your brand and keep them interested between purchases. You can do it all. There are a lot of Email service providers (ESPs) like ActiveCampaign, who help you optimize your email marketing for maximum ROI.



End User

A person who uses a product/service. The end-user is someone who wears your T-shirts. You make websites. The person who hires your company is your customer or client. The person who uses the website is the end-user. In either case, avoid calling people "users" in your marketing materials. This is accurate, but it's not ideal.



Error 404

File not found is an error that your web browser flags. If the user mistyped the URL or is not the publisher of the website, a 404 error message could be the result. Broken links are when a website page is deleted. You can prevent this from happening by creating a redirect that will take users to the new page. A standardized error page 404 for your domain will improve the user experience.



Extensible Markup Language (XML)

A machine and human-readable code language that adds structure, meaning, or context to a text file. The extensible markup language (XML), can be very simple or highly complex (hence the "extensible"). The current HTML version is a specialized instance of XML. Schema markup shows how XML can improve the user experience (UX), of search engine result pages (SERPs).



Eye Tracking

Measurement and recording of the eye movement as they view a website. Eye-tracking is used in digital marketing to determine which parts of a website or email people are most interested in. This is often shown as a heatmap. This data is used by marketers to strategically put elements where they are most likely to be seen and clicked, such as call-to-action buttons and more.



F


Facebook Ads

Advertisements that are only run through Facebook's advertising platform. They can be displayed in Facebook's feed, Messenger, and on other websites and apps which are part of Facebook. They can be customized to target very specific audiences and come in many formats, including single images, videos, slideshows, and more.



Facebook Ads Manager

This is basically your mission control for Facebook ads. This interface allows you to select your target audience and budget, create your ads, then launch them into the wild. Facebook Ads Manager tracks all your ads' performance metrics, such as click-through rate, impressions, and engagements. This is the place to set up and manage Instagram ads, as Facebook also owns Instagram.



Facebook Business Page

Your business's Facebook home. It should include a description, profile photo, cover photo, and a call-to-action (CTA), such as "visit us on Facebook" ect. You can add images, videos, and text about your brand and products too. These pages can be promoted as ads to increase your followers. To encourage your followers to take action, you can add information such as business hours and location details to your Facebook page.



FCC

The Federal Communications Commission (FCC), a United States government agency, regulates communication devices. This includes the Internet. They ensure that all citizens have equal access to these communication channels and that they are safe performing in the national interest and security of the public. The FCC usually creates consumer protection rules, such as privacy protections. The FTC (Federal Trade Commission) enforces these rules.



Featured Snippet

This section of Google's search engine result page attempts to answer a question without the user having to go to another website. These snippets include Google's best guess at the answer, the title, URL of the page, and an image taken from the page. Although featured snippets can help save time, they are mostly machine-generated and not fact-checked.



FTC

The Federal Trade Commission (FTC) protects consumers and promotes competition in the American market. The FTC provides guidelines and rules for online advertising in the world of ecommerce and digital marketing. It is also responsible for enforcing the CAN-SPAM Act to ensure that email marketing is not misleading or harassing.



G


Go-to-Market Strategy

This plan will help you launch your business, product, or service to customers. This plan usually includes research on target audiences, key differences in your market, and a plan for marketing and distribution.



Google Ads

Google Ads is the software platform that Google uses to power its advertising network. Advertisers can choose the keywords that are most relevant to their products and how much to pay for their campaigns. When someone searches for these keywords, the ads appear on Google's search engine results pages (SERP) or third-party websites. Advertisers are charged on a pay-per-click (PPC) basis. This means that you only get paid if someone clicks on your ads.



Google Algorithm

Algorithms can be described as a set of mathematical calculations and if/then statements that determine the actions a computer program should take. Google's algorithm, a rules-based system that Google uses to search through billions upon billions of websites to provide relevant results for users' searches, is called the Google algorithm. The search engine results page (SERP) ranks the results in order of their usefulness. The algorithm uses your personal context (such as your current location or past searches) to tailor the results.



Google Analytics

It measures and reports website traffic. It gives information about website traffic, including the most visited pages, time spent on each page, and the devices used to browse it. You can also link Google Analytics with Google Ads, allowing you to see which campaigns drive the most traffic and convert casual visitors into customers. The platform also provides rich insights into your audience, such as their search terms and whereabouts.



Google My Business

This free service lets you provide more information about your business in search results. You can also add photos, videos, and telephone numbers to your URL. Potential customers can get a cover photo, snippets of Google Street View, and Google Maps to help them know what to expect upon their first visit. Warning: You can be edited by users. Make sure to check your profile regularly for accuracy.



Google Remarketing

Google remarketing, also known as retargeting, allows your Google Ads to track potential customers as they navigate the web. A small code snippet on your website will add a user to your remarketing list when they visit. Your ad is served to them when they visit other websites that use the Google Ad network. Google lets you customize who sees your targeted ads. You can choose to prioritize returning or new customers.



Google Search Console

Google Tool that optimizes your website content for search engine optimization (SEO). To ensure that your most important pages are found in Google's search engine, you should submit your sitemaps and URLs to Google Search Console. It will make recommendations on how to structure your content in order to appear as rich results in search engine results pages (SERP). Recipe pages can include a photograph of the dish in the search results.



Gross Rating Points

The math equation multiplies how many times an advertisement is shown by the percentage of the target audience who sees it multiplied by 100. GRPs (gross rating points) are common in TV ad buying. They help media planners choose when and where to place ads. Although the math may seem a little complicated, GRPs can also be used to calculate online ads. This is a valuable metric for planners when they are deciding on their media mix, including online and TV advertising.


H


H1

A HTML tag that identifies the most important information on a page. Page titles and headlines, which are usually the longest pieces of text on a webpage, are often marked with H1 tags. H1 tags can be linked to specific styles and formatting in a web site's CSS, so headlines will always appear in a particular font, color, or size. H1 tags play an important part in search engine optimization (SEO). They make it easier for content to be indexed. Search engines can recognize an H1 tag as a sign that something is important.



Hard Bounce

Permanent rejection of an email by an email server. If the email server rejects the email for a permanent reason, or if the email server is completely blocking the delivery of the email, the email could hard bounce. Sometimes, an email address that is valid will bounce hard.



Hashtag

To label and make content easier to find, a hash (or pound sign) is used after a phrase or word. Hashtags can be used on social media to link posts about related topics. If you click #Mailchimp, Twitter will display a list with tweets that contain that hashtag. Hashtags can be combined with multiple words. They are often written in internal capitalization to make them #MuchEasierToRead.



Heat Map

A visual representation of data using color to indicate areas that are most likely to be used or utilized. Click maps are a special kind of heat map that displays which web pages have received the most clicks. Red is used to indicate the areas that people click or look at most often. Combining data from an eye-tracking heatmap and a clickmap can be used by web designers to place call-to-action buttons in the most visible and clicked areas.



Hosting

Hosting is commonly understood as a service where storage and computing resources are provided to an individual/organization for the accommodation and maintenance of one or more websites and related services. Although hosting does not need to be IP-based in all instances, many web-based hosting services allow websites and web services to be easily accessible from anywhere on the Internet. Hosting is also known by the names like Web hosting or website hosting.

One of the best, most cheap solutions in the industry to host your websites are Hostinger or Bluehost. You can take a look at our Hostinger Review here.



Hreflang Tags

A HTML tag that allows search engines to find content in a particular language on websites that use multiple languages. Hreflang tags, for example, can be used to help Americans find pages in English. A similar search in Mexico would result in a page that is in Spanish. Hreflang pages can also be used to avoid duplicate content penalties. Hreflang tags allow search engines to understand when content is tailored for specific audiences and not duplicated as an SEO trick.



HTML

Hypertext markup language, or HTMLML, is the coding language that's used to create web pages. HTML is a web browser's way of telling a web browser how to format and style text and images. The HTML example below shows how to use CSS and JavaScript. Tag is used to break up a block text into paragraphs. HTML tags can also contain attributes and values, which tell the browser what to do.



HTTP (HTTPS)

Hypertext transfer protocol (HTTP), is an application or program that a web browser uses for asking a web server to provide information. When you type "https://mailchimp.com" into your browser, a domain name system (DNS) helps it reach out to Mailchimp's web server to return the page you requested. It is the Internet's version of call-and-reply. HTTPS refers to the encrypted (secure) version of HTTP, also known as hypertext transfer protocol secure.



Hyperlink

Hyperlinked text is a piece of text or image that links to another website when you click it. Although hyperlinked text is usually underlined and blue, CSS allows web designers to make it appear in any way they choose. Hyperlinks can link to multiple pages (see jump navigation to left). They can trigger actions using JavaScript, such as the launch of an overlay screen span.



I


Iframe

An iframe refers to a part of a webpage that contains content from another website. It is a page within another page. Iframes can be used to pull content from third-party sites. You can use iframes to display banner ads from Google Ads and other ad networks. Framesets, also known as "frames", are different than iframes. They were originally used to simplify page layouts and make navigation consistent.



This marketing strategy encourages people to search for and engage with your brand actively. Common tactics include social media, content marketing (such as sponsored content and blogs), as well as search engine optimization (SEO). Inbound marketing provides consumers with information, entertainment, and a chance for them to be heard. It also places information about products or services within this context. Inbound marketing is a way to attract prospects and encourage them to interact with your brand and to convert them into paid customers hopefully.



Index Page

A website's homepage. Digipith.com is the index page. People sometimes refer to pages that combine all the headlines, images, and links from a website into one page as an index. Both are correct, which only makes it more confusing. A web developer will most likely refer to the homepage when referring to index pages. If you aren't sure, ask for clarification.



Influencer Marketing

At a fundamental level, influencer marketing is a type of social media marketing. It uses endorsements and product mentions from individuals (influencers) who have a dedicated social following and are viewed as experts within their field or niche. Influencer marketing is a result of the trust social influencers have with their followers. Their recommendations serve as social proof for your brand's potential clients.

An excellent tool to find the right influencers for your marketing campaigns is HypeAuditor.


If you're still unfamiliar with it, you can read our review about HypeAuditor here.



Instagram Ads

Promoting a business's products and services through Instagram posts These posts can be found in an Instagram story, Instagram feed, or both. You can add image, video, and copy to the post. Advertising on Instagram has the advantage of using data Facebook users give to make your ads more relevant. (Facebook is Instagram's parent company.)



Integrated Marketing

It is the practice of aligning all marketing strategies to the same core messaging in order to provide consistent customer experiences. Integrated marketing allows communication tactics like display ads, landing pages, and email marketing to all work together in the same direction towards your marketing goals. For example, you can make your call to action (CTAs) consistent across all marketing channels.



IP Address

Internet protocol address, or just - IP address, is a unique number that works in the same way as your street address. It uses periods and commas to identify a device that accesses the Internet. Each time you log in, your personal computer, tablet, smartphone, and laptop have their own IP addresses. Each device in your business may have a static address that does not change. Refer to domain name system (DNS ).



J


JavaScript

This coding language works with HTML to create dynamic web pages. JavaScript is the coding language that allows you to create sign-in pages and contact forms. JavaScript is also an important player in responsive web design. It uses the same code on desktop and mobile devices to provide a seamless user experience (UX).



K


Key Success Factors

These are the factors that will determine if a company is able to capture its target audience. Strategic focus, people, and operations are the critical factors to success. These are sometimes referred to as competitive emphasis or strategic posture.



Keyword

The content of your web pages should contain a word or phrase that matches search engine terms and phrases as closely as possible. It is really important to use the same language that users use when they search for information. This allows you to rank higher in search engines' organic results based on relevancy. Search engine optimization is built around the keyword (SEO).



Keyword Density

A web page's keyword count is the number of times a keyword has been used. This number is based on the total number of words on the page. Let's assume your keyword is "handmade," and the formula is: total words x 100 x number of "handmade" queries. If you have 300 words and include "handmade" 10 times on your page, then your keyword density for "handmade" is 3%. Your page's relevance will be ranked higher by search engines if it has a higher keyword density. Although, you should avoid keyword stuffing.



KPI

KPIs (key performance indicators) are quantifiable metrics that businesses use to measure their progress toward achieving key objectives. Even though different companies use different metrics, KPIs can be used to help you understand how your company performs and how you can improve it.


L


Landing Page

Potential customers can click through to a standalone web page and "land" there. Landing pages are designed to collect information from potential customers in exchange for something valuable, such as a retail code or insights into business-to-business (B2B), in the form of a whitepaper. Landing pages differ from other pages because they are not part of the website's evergreen navigation. They are used to serve a purpose at a particular moment in an advertising campaign that targets a targeted audience.



Leads

An individual who is interested in your product or service. A term called "Lead" that is used more frequently in the business-to-business (B2B), sale of products and services, than for retail or consumer packaged goods. But B2C marketers also use this term. They are website visitors who usually fill out a contact form and leaves their email adress. You may also purchase lists from another company, such as a list broker, to generate leads. To ensure that leads are compatible with company buyer profiles, sales and marketing professionals vet or "qualify" them.



LinkedIn Advertising

LinkedIn is another social media network that allows you to promote your company's products and services. There are many formats available: text-only ads, sponsored ads that include images or button links, as well as sponsored InMail communications. LinkedIn lets you target your audience by defining criteria like industry, title, or geographic location. You can also use the reporting tools to analyze ad impressions as well as click-through rates (CTR). The package also includes A/B testing and more.



LinkedIn Profile

Your LinkedIn personal landing page. Your LinkedIn Profile can be used as a resume or professional bio. It also serves to present your skills and experience in a concise format that is easy to read for potential employers and business partners. LinkedIn users searching for someone like you will find you easier if you include relevant keywords in your content. You can also maximize the number profile features such as uploading photos and linking to publications.



List Broker

A company that sources contact lists for direct marketers to rent for email marketing campaigns. List brokers often have access to many lists and relationships with list owners. A list broker can also recommend the best lists based on your brand, target audience, and marketing goals. The list broker usually charges a commission in exchange for renting the list. The owner of the list pays this.



M


Market Share

The market share for your product/service that you are trying to capture. Market share can be defined as the ratio of sales to industry sales in the same period. Companies can improve their market share by focusing on customer loyalty and innovating new products and services. They might also acquire main competitors.



Marketing Analytics

An analytics-based discipline that uses math to identify patterns in data and increase the amount of actionable knowledge. Analytics uses statistics, predictive modeling, machine learning, and other techniques to uncover insights and answer questions. Analytics is the basis of weather predictions, batting averages, as well as life insurance policies. Analytics is essential in digital marketing to understand and predict user behavior and optimize the user experience (UX) to drive sales.



Marketing Automation

This process allows technology to automate repetitive marketing tasks, allowing people to concentrate on strategy. Technology can automate social media postings (tools like CoSchedule, Hypefury, Typefully, etc. are great at that) and scheduled emails. It can identify clear winners from all available advertising options and optimize accordingly. An individual (let's call it Tim) doesn't have to type every customer's email whenever a new sale is made, or send an upsell offer manually. Tim can decide the strategy that a marketing platform should implement upfront.



Marketing Collateral

Print and digital materials that are used in conjunction with a primary advertising campaign. "Collateral" was synonymous with "brochures", which supported traditional TV ads before the Internet. For example, a brochure about savings accounts from your local branch. Collateral can be any print or digital piece that supports or extends a campaign. Websites, landing pages, banner ads, and banners are all common digital collateral.



Marketing Mix

The four "P's" are price, product promotion, place, and point of sale. These are the essential elements of bringing a product to the market. Your business plan must include marketing objectives. The marketing mix cannot be separated from your business plan. Companies add "Ps" that are important to them, such as packaging or positioning. While packaging and positioning may overlap with promotion, highlighting the additional "Ps" can help you focus on your company.



Marketing Objectives

What do you want an advertising campaign or marketing initiative to achieve for your bottom line? Customers acquisition, order value, and engagement are common marketing objectives. SMART stands for specific, measurable, actionable, relevant, and time-bound. For example, email marketing might aim to acquire 5,000 new customers through the "friends & family" loyalty email campaign.



Marketing Research

Analyzing and gathering market information to determine how to offer a product/service to customers best. Market research should be based on scientific inquiry principles and objectives and be systematic. Some common methods are focus groups, customer interviews, online and telephone surveys, and A/B testing of different advertising strategies.



Meta Description

The HTML code of a page provides a brief overview of what a page is about. Although character counts can vary depending on search engines, 160 characters with spaces is a good starting point. Meta descriptions are not the most important factor in search engines ranking pages for relevancy to user searches, but still play an important role.



Meta Keywords

The HTML meta keywords tag for a web page contains words and phrases. Search engines use meta keywords to identify the content of a page and rank it according to relevance to user searches. Your page's content should be reflected in the keywords you use in your tag. Search engines will ignore the meta if it isn't. To put it another way, search engines won't consider the meta tag if there aren't enough right keywords in the content.



Meta Tags

HTML code is used to aid search engines in understanding, ranking, and evaluating web pages. Meta tags contain meta description (a summary page), meta keywords, and canonical URL (the master ).



N


Narrowcasting

Broadcasting media messages to a targeted audience. Broadcasting's opposite, narrowcasting, can also be considered niche marketing. Since the dawn of radio, narrowcasting has existed. It can be used for traditional direct mail, TV, internet marketing, paid search, and event marketing. For business-to-business marketing (B2B), trade shows can be an especially valuable platform.



Nofollow

A meta tag is a section of HTML code that tells search engines not to consider a page. A no-follow link is useful for pages that allow users to comment. It protects you against search engines ranking your page based on user comments. Let's suppose that users comment on your blog to promote their products. They also stuff your comments with keywords. To avoid search penalties, you can use a "no-follow" tag.



Nonprofit Marketing

Marketing that advances a nonprofit organization's cause is better than marketing that drives a business's profitability. This is also known as "cause marketing". Common goals of nonprofit marketing initiatives are to raise awareness, increase donations, and grow the number of volunteers.



O


Omnichannel Marketing

Omnichannel marketing creates a cohesive, integrated shopping experience across a brand's sales touchpoints, including brick-and-mortar locations, events, mobile devices, and online stores. The brand's data and analytics are used to ensure consistency wherever shoppers come across it. Let's suppose you own a company that sells socks. With omnichannel marketing, customers can find the socks they like on social media and browse your online store selection to get a coupon. Then they can purchase their favorite pair at your brick-and-mortar store.



Organic Search

Users get these natural and unpaid results after searching for keywords. These results are determined by search engines that crawl your web pages and rank the content according to the most popular queries. Search engine optimization (SEO), which includes keywords in headlines, can help improve your ranking.


Outbound marketing refers to a proactive approach to reaching potential customers in order to gain their interest in the product or service that they are selling. Outbound marketing is when a company initiates the conversation with potential customers and pushes a message to them, instead of waiting for customers to contact them. Inbound marketing is the opposite of outbound, where a company uses marketing strategies in order to draw customers in.



P


Paid Search

Online advertising is activated when people search for keywords that a company has purchased, or in other words - is paying if you click on them. Although ads look similar to organic search results (SERP), they are more prominently displayed on a search engine result page (SERP). These ads are often labeled "ad" or include another word that indicates "paid." Paid search is common in popular categories like hotels, airline tickets, and products. The pricing model is typically pay-per-click (PPC).



Pay-Per-Click (PPC)

A campaign of online advertising that a company only pays for when people interact with it. Instead of paying to have your ads appear on a publisher's website, you can pay for user clicks. Pay-per-click (PPC), refers to a type or campaign. CPC or cost per click, refers to the actual cost. It is the sum of the campaign fee and the number of clicks. If you pay $1,000 to run a campaign that gets 50,000 clicks, your CPC will be $0.02.



PDF

A Portable Document Format (PDF) is a file that can be used across multiple computers and looks exactly like a printed document. Adobe Systems created the.pdf format. This allows users to view, download and save the file, as well as share it, with no restrictions on their operating system or software. White papers and e-briefs, which are business-to-business (B2B), promotions, are often sent to customers and prospects in PDF format.



Personalized Marketing

Analytics is the practice of making advertising messages and product experiences unique for each customer. Personalized marketing goes beyond just inserting the customer's name in a marketing email that goes out to all your customers. It's about reaching out to the right person at the right time with the right messages and the right suggestions.



Personalized Product Recommendations

Based on what they have viewed online or bought, customers can view suggested products they might be interested in. If a customer has bought the same tank top in three colors, they will likely like the same tank top in a different color. Websites that allow cross-selling or upselling have a key feature: personalized product recommendations. These are determined by algorithms using mathematical calculations.



Product Differentiation

Your product or service is unique and more attractive to customers than the other products in your market. Your market advantage is achieved through product differentiation. Differentiators in product quality can include superior service and unique features.



Product Lifecycle

These are the stages that a product experiences during its time on the market. There are four stages to consider: growth, maturity, and decline. The stage of your product will influence your marketing goals and promotional mix. It may be more important to raise awareness for a new product than it is to raise awareness for a mature product.



Product Positioning

Your target audience should have a clear picture of your product or service. Creating a positioning statement that describes how your product or service meets customer needs is important. Digipith, for example, helps people, solopreneurs, small and big businesses to build their companies. To become the brands they desire by providing more innovative tools, knowledge, and tips.



Product Range

A collection of products from one brand. Each version is tailored to appeal to a different segment of the market. These variations are minor variations on a theme and not significant departures in benefits or features.



Promotional Mix

You can use a combination of promotional methods (advertising and sales promotion, personal selling, or publicity) to reach your target audience. To support your marketing goals, you must strategically plan a promotional mix. Customers' acquisition and engagement are common goals.



Promotions

Marketing communications are used to inform and persuade target audiences about products and services. There are four main types of promotions: publicity, sales promotion, and personal selling. Let's suppose your company makes all-natural makeup. You could promote your company by advertising on beauty blogs, sending an email discount, setting up sales calls, or hosting a free makeover for beauty-site editors.



Psychographics

Target audience values, beliefs, or behaviors that are relevant for your product or service. Psychographics, like demographics, can be used to segment your target audience into highly relevant subgroups. This allows you to personalize your message and improve the results of your advertising campaigns. Psychographics allow you to gain insight into your customers' minds so that you can communicate better.



Q


Quality Score

Google Ads metric, which rates how relevant your PPC ads and landing pages are to your selected keywords. Google does not reveal the exact calculation. However, your estimate will be based on keywords relevance, expected click-through rates (CTR), landing page experience, and ad relevancy to keywords. Google recommends optimizing landing pages and ads to increase your Quality Score.


Questionnaire

A collection of questions on a topic used for research purposes. Digital marketing uses questionnaires to gather feedback about user experience (UX). You might send one to customers after they make a purchase in order to determine if there was any confusion during checkout. Marketers often use questionnaires or surveys to find out why someone has unsubscribed from a newsletter. Our recommended tool to make beautiful questionnaires and surveys is Typeform. You can also read and learn more about it in our Typeform review article.



R


Redirect

Redirecting a user to another web page than they requested by providing a URL. If the content has been removed or moved, redirects will send users to a different page. This prevents 404 errors. These allow users to type short URLs that are easy to remember rather than long URLs with many slashes or hyphens.



Referral

A referral is the one who is referring traffic from one website to another. You can track referrals to help you see how people found your website without using a search engine. Suppose you post links to your website on social media, such as Facebook or Twitter. In that case, they will be listed as sources of referral traffic. Websites that post news articles, reviews, and other relevant content can also refer to their website.



Responsive Web Design

It's a method where website design allows a single page to be displayed comfortably on any device, whether it is desktop, a smartphone or a tablet. Responsive web design sites first determine the device type and screen size. They then use CSS to render text, images and other elements in a predefined layout which works for the device.



Return On Ad Spend (ROAS).

ROAS is the ratio between the revenue generated and the total cost of advertising. Your return on ad investment (ROAS) is the ratio of revenue generated by an ad campaign to its cost. For example, if you generate $10,000 from a campaign that costs $1,000, then your ROAS would be 10.



Return On Investment (ROI)

Calculating the investment's monetary value versus its cost. The formula for it is (profit minus cost) / cost. An example of your return on investment (ROI) would be - if you make $10,000 with a $1,000 investment, it would be 0.9 or 90%. The ROI can be used to assess business strategy. The Return on Ad Spend (ROAS), a metric similar to ROI, focuses more on specific tactics such as a particular ad campaign.



Robots.txt

A file placed on a web server gives instructions to search engine spiders, the robots that index web pages. Robots.txt files give instructions to web crawlers about what they should include and what they should avoid. Search engines can hide pages such as form results pages ("thanks") pages that are generated when users submit forms.



RSS

RSS is a very simple way to syndicate content from a website into a feed that can easily be displayed on other websites. Aggregators combine multiple RSS feeds into one interface. This allows people to track updates on multiple websites simultaneously. RSS allows websites to syndicate content from other sources.



S


Schema Markup

Search engines can understand bits of code that are added to web pages. A better understanding of the content allows you to format it when it appears in the search engine results pages (SERP). For example, photos of a recipe are added to the description. A list of upcoming events can be added to the search engine results page (SERP) for a website that hosts a concert venue. Schema markup can generate featured snippets for Google's SERP.



Search Engine Marketing (SEM)

Paid advertising is on a search engine results pages (SERP). Also known as paid search. These ads can be used to drive traffic and conversions to websites. However, they may also include calls to action such as calling a local number or visiting a store. Keywords in a search query activate SEM ads. These ads are typically displayed at the very top of the search results, but they can also appear on the side. The majority of SEM is pay per click (PPC), meaning that you are only charged when someone clicks on your ad.



Search Engine Optimization (SEO)

To improve a website's ranking on search engine results pages (SERP), changes can be made to its content and structure. Search engines recommend that search engine optimization (SEO), efforts benefit both the user (white hat SEO) and the page's ranking. These include using relevant keywords in subheads and headlines (H1), "friendly" URLs that contain keywords and not strings of numbers and schema markup to enrich and detail the results.



Search Engine Results Page (SERP)

A search engine returns a page after a user has submitted a query. Search engine results pages (SERPs) and organic search results (OGRs) often include pay-per-click ads and paid search. Search engine optimization (SEO) can make ranking positions on SERPs highly competitive as users are more likely to click on the results at the top of the page. The launch of schema markup has made SERPs more complicated to anticipate user needs.



Search Engines

Software that helps you find information and sites on the Internet. Google, Yahoo!, and Bing are three of the most popular search engines in the United States. However, Google is still the leader. Search engines crawl websites to find relevant content and index it in their databases. They then display search results based upon the keywords used in the query. Search engines make inbound marketing easier by search engine optimization (SEO) and search engine marketing (SEM).



Search Query

Search queries are the words typed by users in the search engines to get a result. Search queries refer to the text people enter into a search engine to find a result. For example, "Will It Rain Today?" You can identify which keywords to include in search engine optimization (SEO) by looking at the search queries that led to your website. This is an example of a popular query.



Sitelink

A link extension that places more links in a paid-search ad. A link that links to your store hours or sales page. Sitelinks are usually free to use. Sitelinks can be used for free, much like other pay-per-click (PPC) ads.



Sitemap XML

A list of pages that search engines should index on a website. Sitemaps are written in extensible markup languages (XML) so that both computers and humans can read them. They include page URLs and modification dates to allow search engines to determine if a page has been crawled since its last update. Sitemap XML and robots.txt related search engine optimization (SEO), tactics approach indexing from two sides of the same coin. Sitemap XML answers "yes", while robots.txt does not answer this question.



Social Media Marketing

Social media marketing - is a way to promote a brand, product, or service. Social media marketing allows brands to be part of ongoing conversations via channels like Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, and Facebook. Social media marketing best practices include posting interesting content that links back at your website and publicly responding to comments and questions. You can promote posts with media dollars or organic content.



Social listening

Social listening involves observing social media platforms for mentions or conversations about your brand. Then, you analyze them for insights and discover ways to take action. Monitor social channels for mentions about your brand, competitors and products, and keywords related to your business. Then analyze the information to determine how you can put it into practice. This could be as simple as responding to a customer who is happy or as large as changing your brand's positioning.


A great social listening tool is Brand24. We did a review of it so that you could learn more about the most important metrics for a brand.



Soft Bounce

A temporary rejection of an email by an email server. Soft bounces are emails that an email server has rejected for temporary reasons.



Spam

Spam can be described as the digital equivalent of junk mail. Spam can include an email, text message, or social media direct message. Marketers can ask individuals to opt-in to email lists and offer easy ways to unsubscribe so that their digital marketing communications are not considered spam.


The Sender Policy Framework or (SPF) is an email-authentication method that is used to block spammers from sending messages on your behalf. SPF allows an organization to authorize mail servers.



SSL

Secure Sockets Layer is a method to protect data sent between websites. SSL is closely related with Transport Layer Security (TLS), which is another encryption method. The two acronyms are frequently used interchangeably.



T


Tags

An HTML tag is a piece of HTML code that instructs a browser how to render an element in a webpage. HTML tags are the backbone of HTML. They provide structure to an otherwise simple programming language. While tags were initially used to layout web pages, modern web design uses CSS to separate content from layout. HTML tags and hashtags do not have to be related.



Target Audience

These are the people you want to reach through your marketing efforts. These are the type of people who are interested in your products and services the most, and most likely to convert from leads into customers. You can target audiences based on gender identity, age, location, psychographics (aspirations and concerns, values, or behavior (likely buy online). It is common for target audiences to be broad and diverse. Therefore, audience segmentation can help you deliver a more targeted and effective message.



Title Tag

A HTML tag that defines the page's title. The title tag does not determine the headline on a page. Instead, the H1 tag defines it. The title tag usually renders text at the top of the browser window or in a tab label. Search engine optimization (SEO) is an crucial component of search engine optimization. Title tags should contain at least one keyword to aid in search engine ranking.



Tracking Code

A small amount of JavaScript is placed on a website to send data to Google Analytics. Google Analytics uses the tracking code to collect information about your audience. This includes how they arrived at your site, how long they stayed there, and what they did during their time there.



Transactional Email

Automated email sent by one sender to recipient, usually to inform about account activity or to facilitate a transaction.



Twitter Advertising

Twitter's advertising platform. Twitter ads are tweets targeted at a particular audience. They can contain text, images, videos, and polls since they are tweets. There are still character limit restrictions. Your ads can be shown to people based on their interests, location, and who they follow. Optimizing Twitter can help you increase your followers and generate engagements such as likes or retweets. It can drive traffic to your site and increase brand awareness.



U


Unique Selling Proposition

Your advertising and marketing will determine why people should purchase your product or service. Your unique selling proposition in an ad can be summarized as "buy X, and you'll get Y." I.e., buy this pen, and you'll be able to write faster.



Unique Visitors

This is the number of people who visited your website within a certain time period. This is often referred to as visits, and it is the number of times your website was visited during a given time period. You would get 20 visits if you had 2 visitors who visited your website 10 times per day. Because repeat visits can be a sign that you are loyal or respond to an abandoned cart email, they are very important.



User Experience (UX)

What a person feels when they use a product or service. Digital experiences can be made more efficient, productive, and entertaining by focusing on user experience (UX). UX can be described as optimizing the website's user interface (UI). This is a common definition in digital marketing. E-commerce companies, for example, want to know how their customers browse and shop on their sites.



User Interface (UI)

A website's visual and audio elements are what visitors see on the site or app. The user interface (UI) elements may include text, images, sound, animation, or video. Depending on the user's preferences, UI elements can be rendered in different ways. Someone with low vision may use a screen reader to access content. UX designers are very focused on UI layout and testing.



V


Vision Statement

A brief description of the company's future goals. Vision statements are often highly aspirational and serve to motivate employees and guide day-to-day decisions. Vision statements (future goal statements) are often paired up with mission statements (today's goal) or value statements (how a company will achieve all its goals).


Visual hierarchy

A visual organization that group elements together in a predictable or natural pattern, such as reading from the left or right, or leads to the most crucial elements to click.



W


Welcome Email

A message for a new subscriber. A welcome email is a follow-up to a newsletter subscription, service subscription, loyalty program, or any other initial or subsequent interaction with a company. Thank them for their email and say hello to anyone who sends it. You can build relationships and tell brand stories with your subscribers by sending them welcome emails. These emails are a great candidate to be used for marketing automation, especially when sent in a series.



White Hat SEO

SEO techniques that benefit websites as well as the people who use them. White-hat SEO is a way to protect users. It improves website content accessibility and quality, which in turn increases its relevance and ranking. It can analyze search queries and identify new keywords to create original content.



Wireframe

A blueprint of a website's user interface. Wireframes, which are often drawn by hand, show how functionality and content fit together in a layout. While wireframes focus on the order and placement of elements on a page, they rarely provide details about the final visual design. Photographs are shown as a box that has an X through it. Because the same elements must be rearranged for different screen sizes, wireframes are essential in responsive web design.



Word-of-Mouth Marketing (WOM Marketing)

A person-to-person conversation to promote a product/service. Example: "Hey, that movie was great. It's worth checking out. Word-of-mouth marketing (WOM) can also be organic. It can be commanded and directed by a brand. Influencers are a popular type of WOM marketing on social media. An influencer is a trusted celebrity or expert who is paid to share their experiences with a product/service. WOM marketing must be authentic in order to succeed. It's not always positive, but it is important.



Y


Yahoo Advertising

Yahoo's advertising platform. Yahoo's ad platform offers many placements and formats like other networks. Yahoo's search engine results page (SERP) displays pay-per-click (PPC), ads. Display ads can be served on the site's homepage, content portals, and articles pages. They can also be re-served to viewers in a similar fashion as Google remarketing ads.



YouTube Advertising

YouTube ads are video ads. Google owns YouTube advertising. It shares many of the core features that Google Ads offers, but YouTube ads have one big difference: they're videos. You can have ads play either before (pre-roll) or after (bumper), a video that a user has chosen. They can be placed in the middle of a playlist ("TrueView"), or in a longer video than 10 minutes ("midroll"). YouTube ads can be either pay-per-click (PPC) or pay-per-view, depending on the length and position.



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